Hello World

• Hi all,

My name is Simon Lissaman. I'm an illustrator looking to learn more and develop my skills. I have a background in games development (concept art) but have found some success in commercial and technical illustration. I've been drifting a bit lately and I'm having a bit of a creative slump. Anyone have any advice on shaking it off?

0_1533470663500_T-Rex Small.jpg

• Nice work!

Whenever I feel a creative slump I draw shapes. cubes, spheres and pyramids.

Very soon, I'm so sick of drawing basic shapes that I'd rather draw literally anything else.

At which point I draw literally anything else.

And if I don't, at the very least I've spent an hour or so practicing the basics.

• @art-of-b I have never thought about doing that... I usually try and draw cartoon faces until something happens or I get frustrated and go do something else. I will have to try this and see if it helps!

• You could try doing a monthly challenge? Maybe draw 30 animals, or 30 children ? Or if you want a bigger challenge do @Jake-Parker 's draw "100 something". @smceccarelli did 100 children recently and did pretty awesome work! If you share the work here or on social media it gives you accountability (that being said, I started a challenge like that about 2 years ago which was drawing 50 animal characters and never finished it, but I did about 20 and it was still fun and kept the creative juice flowing). What kind of illustration would you like to do? (kid lit, editorial, ?)

• @simon-prime
    Hello! Lovely work ๐Ÿ˜Š When I feel drifty and uncreative I try and do something else that doesnโ€™t expect me to be creative, like walking or cycling or yoga or swimming or go camping or something, and then often Iโ€™ll feel more creative afterwards.

Have you read the artists way? I find that book helpful and in there I think they call it filling the creative well, and the svs guys did a podcast not too long ago about filling your creative bank account that might help too!