July 3rd Thursday

• Right, here goes! Here is where I am so far for July 3rd Thursday...I decided that my theme this month would be a space scene, because I've never done one before and I'd like one for my portfolio.

So here Willie is an astronaut that's stranded on a rocky moon...and finally he's being rescued, though not by the people he expected! Instead of humans, an alien breakdown service is attending him.

I decided again to go with a two-spread solution so I didn't have to cram it all in one image. Any thoughts/critique welcome! (I realise I need to re-draw the alien in the last image, as his spaceship and his hands aren't right..)

0_1467551547415_alien-sketch.jpg

• @Dulcie Hi Dulcie - My only comment is that I wonder if the head/face of your alien looks a bit too much like your purple dragon character.

This is not to say I don't like it.

Just wonder if it is too similar if they were both to appear in the same portfolio?

• @Dulcie Great idea, I like the top image and the image of the alien. For the spaceship landing I would just show it landing. Like having the engines pointing toward the moon with flames coming out and kicking up dust vs showing it in the air and then already landed. It may show more action that way.

• @Rich-Green That is a really good point, thank you... I did notice the similarity when drawing but didn't act on it - I think my subconscious really wants to draw dragons, I have to try hard not to let them sneak into every image! 😉 I've re-designed the alien, hope it's better.

@Chip-Valecek Thanks very much for the suggestions about having it landing and kicking up dust etc, great idea! I agree that it would show more action. I also still kinda want to show that the tiny speck on the first spread is actually a spaceship as it gets a bit closer..but I've changed the other one, so hopefully what I've done now incorporates what you meant.

Any further ideas/thoughts welcome as always 🙂 Here's the updated version: