FEED BACK!! Katrina's WIP Santa 3rd Thurs

• So I'm a painter at heart and was inspired by Bucci's latest class. Here in my WIP for the 3rd thrusday prompt. It's Santa riding a dragon. Dragon rider2.1.jpg
    I'm trying to keep it 'painterly' like my original works like this:
    pinkNblue Girl_KatrinaFowler.jpg

• I Really like your style. I just watched the Bucci video too and attempted to do what he was doing while I watched with blah results. Anyway, I like everything about this piece but I had to take a minute to figure out what was going on with the dragons head. I think I'd want to add just a bit more definition in that area. and warm and brighten up the fire a little . It doesn't quite read as fire to me yet.

• @Katrina-Fowler You had the same idea as me! (Santa's sleigh strapped onto a dragon's back haha)

Love your loose style - but I agree with @Jonathon-B that it's too hard to make out what's happening. Also - is the dragon missing its tail and wings?

One final piece of advice - I think the dragon should be a different colour. Green maybe to complement Santa. With the dragon and Santa both being red there's no focal point.

Santa is my favourite - lookit his cute fluffy beard!!! I just wanna pinch his tiny cheeks.

• now that look very cool!

• @Jonathon-B said:

I Really like your style. I just watched the Bucci video too and attempted to do what he was doing while I watched with blah results. Anyway, I like everything about this piece but I had to take a minute to figure out what was going on with the dragons head. I think I'd want to add just a bit more definition in that area. and warm and brighten up the fire a little . It doesn't quite read as fire to me yet.

I agree the whole thing was just a big color 'sketch'. I reworked the head and will change the fire. Thanks for the comment!

• @DanetteDraws said:

@Katrina-Fowler You had the same idea as me! (Santa's sleigh strapped onto a dragon's back haha)