Boss doesn't want me to offer similar style designs

• A little bit of a rant and to look for some advice.

So I have been working for a small private teaching company for the last 2 years (not teaching art) and my job has consisted of roughly 60% teaching and 40% design. Most of the design at first was just character design, advertising, a bit of animation and making materials to advertise their school and build their own brand, also most of these designs would be free to use. I guess I would call it building a library of illustrations. However the other month my boss wanted to use some of the previous material and new ones to make his own textbook to sell to other schools across the country. This took a few months as I am the only designer and I had very little time to fit most of it in, but we finally made it and he is getting a few thousand copies ready to sell.

Anyhow, the job has a very basic salary and benefits (it's a salary for teaching not designing) and I asked for a raise from the new contract year (contracts are year by year) as I am providing skills that the usual employee doesn't have. Also, when I joined the company I knew from the interview that the pay would be low and I would only be classed as a teacher and not an illustrator/designer at first, but if I produced good work and it brought in a profit then I would be given a higher salary. At first he said we could talk about the salary after the Xmas break, and his thought now is that they want to focus more on teaching and less design and as it seems like I want to be a designer I won't be recontacted, but they may wish to request work in the future if I go freelance and if the book sells well. I now figure that as they have a load of designs that they can use by themselves and as the textbook is on it's way, that they don't need to pay for a designer anymore.... Anyway that is my mistake from playing along I guess, but you live and learn and rant a little about it :P