3rd Thurday August for fun and for getting better at illustrating: Astrid WIP

• Okay Hello world, here is my first time ever 3rd thursday sketch. I'm new to Children's Book illustration and It was very hard work and feel free to give me some feed back. As you can see, I need a lot of practise and learning alot from the SVS Children's Book Illustration course that I took. I just let the pen move on the canvas and whatever came to my head, I just started drawing. This is a digital drawing done on a wacom tablet, photoshop. I'm pretty new to the tablet and photoshop.
    3rdThursdaySketch.jpg
    And here is a quick color study, a pretty much ugly colored version... I got lost and pretty much gave up half way. Background is just too bright the foreground is just not working at all. Any feed back would be helpful. I might try again and re-watch the videos again too.
    3rdThursdayColorStudy.jpg

• so cool I really like your drawing! love where it is going so far. Keep us posted.

• @Naroth-Cow Thanks, I'll do some more color studies and post them up soon. WOW!, I really love your coloured version of the 'drop off dog' piece, its amazing.

• I think you have done a very good drawing, thought your color comp is a bit vivid. I think think its bad, try and desaturate it a little and see how that works.

• @Steve-Young Thanks. Your right about the colours being vivid. Once I started using the blending modes it all went down hill from there. I know what mood and feel I want to convey, but trying get that out of my head is the hardest part. I think I was trying to go for that vintage sci-fi look that I use to remember but it failed, badly.