3rd Thursday - Astrid -

• Hello Everyone! I'm new to digital painting and this is only my second attempt at it. I do 3rd Thursday challenges as a monthly motivator to learn digital painting, more so than for hopes of wining. Anyway, just wondering if you can see any areas that need improvement before I submit. Thanks!

Christina

• oops! *winning

• Hey Christina, I gotta say you did pretty good job on second attempt. I love your drawing and the idea of camouflaging the dragon with the environment. This reminded me of a game. Great job and good luck!

• Oooh, very cool! I really like your concept!

• Wonderful!

• DAMN. So good.

I think If you zoom in and go over it again and do a cleanup you will be in a great shape. I mean like those lines on a rock that are too light, light and dark lines on dragons leg Sometimes when I really look at some area there are just random light or dark lines and I dont think they are helping the image. You could also probably play with the light a bit more, when I look at the dragon I am not really sure where to put the light source

Concerning drawing and composition thats just perfect I think :)

• @Jiří-Kůs Thanks! I was feeling like this one was a fail. Yeah, the line work is what's bugging me too. I can't seem to get good lines with my Intuos tablet (wish I had a Cintiq!) so I scanned in my sketch. I also tried to use Terry's 10 step process, but found that I was losing my drawing after a few layers. I'll try to clean it up a bit more if I can.

Thanks for the encouraging comments everyone! If you see anything else, let me know!

• @Christina-Taylor-Brown I am not positive but I think it is Will's digital pencil class where he shows you how to remove the black lines off of your paper from a scan so you can paint underneath it. Has helped me a lot!

• Your off to a great start! Really a neat concept that has a story attached to it. Keep working at it because this image has some really good things going for it. Nice job!